The Hebrew Calendar

The Gregorian date (Anno Domini/Common Era) is the present Christian/World calendar based on birthdate of Christ and was set up in 1582; the Hebrew date is the lunisolar Jewish calendar based on the date of creation which, in the Gregorian calendar extended back in time, is -3761 BCE.  This was worked out by Rabbi Yose Ben Halfta around year 160CE. The calendar now is based on calculation rather than observation. It is used by the Jewish religious leaders for determining religious festivals which are translated to the Gregorian date. Jewish New Year, Rosh Hashana, is day 1, Tishri - 30th September 2008 and Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement, day 10, Tishri.


Day: Month: Year:
After sunset    
Day of the week 


Day: Month: Year:
  Day of the week    


 1  January 7  July
 2  February 8  August
 3  March 9  September 
 4  April 10  October
 5  May  11  November
 6  June 12  December 

 1  Tishri 7  Nisan
 2  Cheshvan  8  Iyyar
 3  Kislev 9  Sivan
 4  Tevet 10  Tammuz 
 5  Shevat 11  Av
 6  Adar I 12  Elul

Problems with the Hebrew Calendar.
There was a controversy in the Talmud about whether the world was created in Tishri or Nisan; it was decided that the answer is Tishri. There are also a number of adjustments that have be made continually to ensure that the first day of Rosh Hashana only occurs on a Monday, Tuesday, Thursday or Saturday. This is to ensure that Yom Kippur, a day on which no work can be done, can never fall on Friday (the day prior to the Sabbath), or on Sunday (the day after Shabbat) to avoid having the previous day's restrictions still going on at the start of Sabbath, or the restrictions of Shabbat still going on at the start of Yom Kippur. Hoshana Rabbah, the Day of the Final Sealing of Judgement, occurring on day 21, Tishri, must not fall on a Shabbat because certain ceremonies would be lost for a year.